An Intern’s Perspective: Gaining an Advantage

Author: Peter Kaufmann
Major: WLC Business Major
Internship Company: The Ritterbusch Group
#aninternsperspective

After hearing about The Ritterbusch Group internship for the American Society of Golf Course Architects (ASGCA) from my classmate, I knew this was an opportunity not to pass up. As someone aspiring to one day be involved in the golf industry, this was a great opportunity to get my foot in the door. Not only was this opportunity an excellent way to gain industry exposure, but I was going to gain valuable marketing/public relations knowledge that is relevant and imperative to know as a marketing empathsis here at Wisconsin Lutheran College.

Kaufmann_Internship_Pic1

Going into my internship, I had many expectations. I was expecting I would be doing a lot of low level work for the association. Due to my ranking, I figured I would not be involved with many decisions. However, I ended up being very interactive as an intern and learned a great variety of information.  I was also able to bring my ideas forward and have them acknowledged by my co-workers. My favorite aspect of the internship was starting up and running the ASGCA Instagram site. I developed and managed weekly postings and have had prominent names in the golf industry follow the account.

An internship allows a person to get real life experience that they won’t find in the classroom. An internship is also a great experience by the fact that it is a preview of the working world.

Having more first-hand understanding of the working world gives students a crucial advantage once they graduate.  I would tell students who haven’t had an internship to find one and take advantage of the opportunity the employer is giving you.

I was fortunate enough to get an internship which I am passionate about but I believe any type of internship will be beneficial to overall future success.  Even if it is something you may not want to do, an internship can make it concrete in your mind and narrow your path down as to what you would like to do in the future.

Leave a Reply

