An Intern’s Perspective: Gaining Experience and Learning Balance

Author: Mitchell Rollefson
Major: WLC Business Major
Internship Company: WHR Group
#aninternsperspective

I took an internship at because I wanted to gain experience outside of the classroom before graduating with a college degree.  When I initially started this internship at WHR Group last May,

I honestly did not know what to expect.

It was a summer internship that was from 8 am to 5 pm. I was told what my job descriptions were but was told that I would likely be moving around from department to department assisting them however they needed me. The goal was to make me a “jack-of-all-trades” so that when I graduated, I would be able to fit in at any department. It was actually quite a lot like that for a few weeks until I was asked to assist the Appraisal and Referral Departments. They were in a transition period and needed my help so they could stay afloat. Fall semester, I worked almost exclusively with the Appraisal Department. Finally, for winter break and the Spring semester, I worked with the Accounting department.

My favorite professional part about the internship was gaining valuable experience in the professional world. This was my first job that wasn’t outdoors and I feel like it was great to experience this before graduating. This internship has prepared me for the real world because I was offered and I signed on as a full-time employee with a position as Accounting Associate upon graduating.

I strongly recommend internships to other students. It prepares students in so many ways for life after college.

Having an internship causes one to find the proper balance between classes and work and it gives one the idea of whether or not they see themselves in a position like that or not.

Finally, having an internship helps students truly decide or point them in a direction of what they want to do for a career.

Leave a Reply

