An Intern’s Perspective: Learning to Be a Professional

Student: Abigail Holton
Major: Business Administration
Internship Company: SVA Certified Public Accountants
#aninternsperspective

. . . I gained a lot of knowledge in accounting and learned how to carry myself in a professional setting.

Building Blox (BB): Why did you take this internship?
Holtan (H): I took this internship to gain experience and to help myself determine which area of accounting I enjoy the most.

BB: What did you think your experience would be like?
What was it actually like?
H: I thought it would be a good learning experience. It was actually a huge learning experience.  I gained a lot of knowledge in accounting and learned how to carry myself in a professional setting.

Holtan_Internship_Pic1

BB: What was your favorite aspect of the internship?
H: I enjoyed the overall learning experience. I was able to tie in what I’ve learned in class to a real world setting. I also enjoyed the time co-workers spent teaching me about certain areas of accounting.

BB: How has the internship prepared you for the real world?
H: I definitely believe this internship prepared me for what would be expected of me in a tax situation and time frame. It is important for your work to be accurate and meet certain deadlines.

BB: Do you recommend this internship to other students?
H: I highly recommend this internship to other accounting students. It taught me how to prepare and analyze financial statements and gave me valuable insight into this side of an accounting career.

Leave a Reply

