An Intern’s Perspective: Getting More Than You Expected

Author: Megan Reuter
Major: WLC Adult Accelerated Program, Business Management & Leadership
Internship Company: Wisconsin Lutheran College
#aninternsperspective

I took an internship because I needed one credit and my advisor told me that I could do an internship as a Business Management & Leadership Senior Mentor. I thought this would be a good idea and I could offer my help and suggestions to others in WLC’s Adult Accelerated Program.

I was unsure what my experience would be like because I knew it was not a traditional style internship.  It turned out to be refreshing because now I am a part of something bigger than just my internship.  I am making a difference.

I am helping others and am working to improve the Adult Graduate program. My favorite aspect of the internship is that it is more than I expected. I started the internship with just needing one credit for my degree and now I get to be apart of helping others and improving the overall Adult Accelerated program.

reuter_internship_pic1

The internship prepared me for the real world because it helped me see that helping others can come in many different forms and when you least expect it.

I also learned that it can be challenging when doing something unconventional but if you stick through it good things can come.

I absolutely recommend internships to other students because they offer a different style of learning. They are also an excellent way to get involved.

Leave a Reply

